Palmiers

Every day when I come home from school my mom has Food Network going on the tv. I’ve grown up around Food Network, my first ever cookbook was Rachel Ray and I distinctly remember my dad teaching me how to “grill like Bobby Flay” when I turned 9. It’s in my blood. But now coming home around 2:30 every weekday, usually it’s Barefoot Contessa playing in the background. Ina Garten is by far my favorite chef and I definitely have a bit of a girl crush on her. Two weeks ago when I came home she was giving the inside scoop on cooking French- and I ate it up (no pun intended). I was ready to try her palmiers that minute when she showed just how absolutely easy they are. I figured I could pull that off and today after buying freezer puff pastry I was ready to give it a go.

20130921-134144.jpg

All you do is unfold a piece of puff pastry and lay it on a counter that is covered in sugar (about a half cup). Messy, but oh so worth it. Then you pour another half cup of sugar on top and lightly roll out the dough to be a 13’x13′ square. The key is, wait till it is completely defrosted to room temperature on its own. I tried to speed up the process with my handy dandy microwave and it was a mess, half frozen and half warm and it just caused the dough to split at the fold. It wasn’t the end of the world but it’s a bit easier to use when it doesn’t have tears in it.

20130921-134531.jpg

Then what you do is you fold it in on it’s self. Ultimately you’ll have 6 layers so fold each side in a quarter of the way, then again so they meet in the middle, then on top of themselves. Cut the log so that you an see the folds, like those holiday cookies with the pictures inside (definitely a favorite of mine, not going to lie) about an inch thick. If you pinch the dough down a bit, again don’t worry, I freaked slightly and thought it would be all mutated when I took them out of the over but they weren’t!

20130921-135050.jpg

Put them 3×4 on a cookie sheet lined with parchment and pop those suckers in the oven at 450 degrees. Once they’ve been in there for about 6 minutes pull them out and flip them over to cook for another 3-5 minutes. The picture above is at the 3 minute mark on the second go around, they were starting to look and smell pretty fantastic.

20130921-135352.jpg

Take them out of the oven and let them cool and then voilà! Irresistible French dessert? I think yes.

Leave a Reply

